The Knight Before Christmas...

In decorating my house for the holidays, I realized I have accumulated quite a few jesters. It had me thinking about what they had to do with Christmas. We all have heard of the court jester but it did not explain to me how the jester came to be a part of the holidays. Well, a little research and you can find out anything you want these days.
I am sure you have seen pictures of court jesters before. If you noticed, the hat of the jesters has metal bells on them. People started to say that they would come to events with bells on, like a court jester.
The phrase "bells on" was a way to communicate excitement. A person uses the expression to let you know they have a lot of anticipation about an upcoming event or party. Such as Christmas! This is why the description of a jester, with bells on displaying a lot of excitement about something, finally makes sense to me.

My little doll looks a little young to be entertaining but she is dressed like a jester. When I showed my husband this photo, he told me it was scary. I bet he doesn’t like clowns either. Ha. I hope you don’t find it to be a scary photo. I really like it myself. I wasn’t feeling up to going out so my blipping choices were limited. I keep meaning to purchase a light box so I can try being more creative with my photos. Perhaps I’ll add it to my wish list for the holidays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.