Fire and Ice

It is very cold here right now. I woke to bright sun and a layer of frozen sleet on the deck. Needless to say, I did not walk right out to feed the birds. I tossed them a few peanuts and waited for the ice to melt so I could safely give them the rest of their food. The little hummer feeder was solid ice. The bigger one was just frosty so the female hummingbird was enjoying her flights up near our kitchen window to take a drink.

Naturally, I had to have a wander with my camera since there was ice all over the place. Luckily the driveway down was bare and so was the alley where I walk to find blips. These plants are strange to me. They were pulled from a neighbor's garden and dumped on a large heap of garden trash. I've tried before to get a good photo of them with no success. There were clumps of ice on them today and the light was coming from behind. The ice behind them made little rainbow colored circles behind them. "Okay. This time I got it I think," I thought as I took several photos of them. I like this one (large).

By the time I finished my breakfast, the deck ice had thawed and I could give the birdies their food. They were appreciative and flew and whirled about in the bright sun.

We took Lynda to the airport this morning for her flight back to California. We had a great week with her and are looking forward to her return visit for Arvin's birthday. Helena is at an appointment and I'm taking the opportunity to do the wash and work on my Christmas calendars. I have to say I am quite a bit behind schedule. Hopefully I'll get the international ones in the mail in time.

Hope your day is as bright and beautiful as ours. Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.