who me?

Today marks 3 years on the calendar that I've been a part of blipfoto. I have not reached 1095 blips yet as I haven't uploaded a photo every single day. This one will make 894 blips for me, which is only about 200 short ;) I've taken breaks during the 3 years and also not blipped every day. Although, I have been here on a daily basis since September 19th - after my break this summer, I've wanted to be here daily! I enjoy the practice of taking, sometimes editing and then choosing a photo for the day. I like having a journal to look back on, even sad things like my father's death. It puts everything into perspective for me. I like to live creatively (as you might guess by the name of this journal) and photography is often my go-to for this.

I went out into the front yard this afternoon to take photos of a bromeliad on an oak tree that is starting to bloom, when I came upon this cheeky squirrel - go large if you dare! I do not think I would have gotten such a clear photo of him if I had my camera on automatic. A good one perhaps . . . I may sound like a broken record, but choosing the settings myself has made me happier with my photographs! How cool is that? And it is really because of many of you who work with settings and talk about it sometimes. Also it's because of all of you who take the time to stop by and leave me encouraging words, stars & hearts. You have certainly spurred me on! I went on to take a bunch more photos later in the afternoon as the sun was going down. By playing with the f/stop and ISO myself, I was able to figure out a good setting for my camera for the situation. I feel rather proud about that. I uploaded 3 of those lovely sunset photos here. In the past I would have used the "scene" setting and chosen "hand held twighlight". This time I got it done by myself, by jove.
Thank you for your help, your friendship, and your support!!! yours, lenna

Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement.
Nothing can be done without hope and confidence.
~ Helen Keller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.