Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Christmas lights

A cold and windy day to go up to London to see the exhibition on Australian art at The Royal Academy. I did not know what to expect, but I loved the Aboriginal art, particularly the crosshatching in bark known as Rarrk. These paintings are usually done on dried and cured bark, done originally with grass but now is done with brushes. It is also called crosshatching because the technique requires the application of many parallel lines and the more advanced technique looks as if the applications of lines have been woven into the painting.

Then we had a quick sushi lunch over the road at Itsu, and I bought some to take home as Thomas is addicted to sushi!

For the first time I left my camera at home, on purpose, as I did not fancy carrying it through the exhibition. To be honest I felt almost naked without it, as it goes with me wherever I go! Back home again, and after it got dark, I went down to the Cobham high street to take this photo of the Christmas lights, as I think they are better than most others that I have seen around here. It have not taken many night shots before, and there were many cars going up and down the street but I rather liked the car lights being included in the shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.