Practice, practice

Today was cold, rainy and gray…again! I have been looking at so many beautiful blips of blue skies and sunshine and I am jealous. Since I was nursing this bug I have I stayed in today and worked on my latest art project. It is challenging and different from what I usually do but I loved the picture and wanted to try it.

I would be working on it and think to myself, there is no way I am going to be able to do this. Then I would get up and stretch my legs and when I came back to the drawing, I was pleased with how it had progressed. My art teacher is always saying you need to get up every once in a while and look at everyone else’s work in the class and then come back to yours so you give yourself a little break and then you look at your work with fresh eyes. It is so true.
I decided instead of showing the finished result of a painting to show you a glimpse of the painting in the process. The sketch or drawing is first and it is the most difficult for me. I love once I can add color and paint. I am always so critical of my drawing abilities but in the end, I always do it somehow.

“Practice doesn't make perfect.
Practice reduces the imperfection.”
― Toba Beta

I spent the rest of the day doing laundry, cleaning the house and trying not to cough. Laughing is out of the question. I have to stick to watching drama shows on the TV because a comedy will put me right over the edge. I feel like I did sit-ups yesterday, as today my muscles are sore from all that hacking. I am coughing less today though so I am grateful for that. I think I’m over the worst of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.