First Snow

First snow of the season today and it was an icy cold day. The fireplace was going all day and we spent some time working on a jigsaw puzzle and just relaxing. I thought the Christmas lights looked nice in the snow so I bundled up and walked out to the sidewalk to get a picture of the house. I was playing with different setting on the camera to get the right lighting and in the process had quite a bit of snow accumulating on my head and coat. I came in hoping I got a decent capture and warmed up by the fire for a while.

I made some chicken marsala for dinner and it came out great. Everyone enjoyed it. There is something about the winter and snow that seems to make us hungrier than usual. Some people say it is our primitive history causing us to stockpile calories for the winter. I do not necessarily agree with the fact that we are like a bunch of chipmunks storing our food. When the days grow shorter, we get hungrier. Let’s face it, we cannot go out and play as much as we do during the rest of the year. Therefore, we try to cheer ourselves with some extra treats. It makes perfect sense to me.

My grandchildren were thrilled to see the snow and wanted to get out there to play but it was getting dark by the time the snow had accumulated enough. We let them stand on the porch to see it coming down and to look at how much had covered the ground and trees. I still remember being a kid and playing out in the snow. Everything looked so beautiful and white. To be a child in winter can be a lot of fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.