Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Eco-Tour Kayak Trip

I got home after 10.30pm tonight after a four hour plus kayaking trip on the Opawa River.
Will Parsons, one of our Camera Club Members has an Eco-Tour company and runs kayaking trips from his property on the banks of the Opawa River. He and wife Rose have a Wetland Reserve on their land and also run a homestay.
Another Rosie, a fellow camera club member an I shared a double kayak to paddle down the Opawa River on the out-going tide and then back up the river to Will’s place on the in-coming tide hours later. We saw and photographed the magnificent Royal Spoonbills and many varieties of shags. There were too many bird varieties to mention here. We had two stops for great food, going ashore for each. I have not kayaked for years but soon got into the swing of it. But I reckon my arms and shoulders will suffer tomorrow. We paddled back in the dark. That was magic. We stopped paddling at one stage to hear a dozen or so Spoonbills splashing through the water’s edge on the hunt of food. Venus shone brightly in the sky and down upon us. Just like the star of Bethlehem. A special place to be
My blip shows Will explaining some of the finer points of kayaking while his dog Vix keeps a close eye on the river ahead. I can’t wait to go on another trip on the Opawa River.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.