Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Snow!

Finally, the much-anticipated snow arrived today! It was the perfect kind of snow - big fluffy flakes that didn't leave more than a couple of inches behind, even though it snowed most of the day. The Bistro was insanely busy from just before sunrise and throughout the day. All the usual visitors, and this solitary Purple Finch. Not sure why he was by himself, but he seemed to be in good health and spent most of the morning chowing down on sunflower seeds. Purple finches aren't exactly rare here, but they aren't all that common either, so seeing one is always a treat.

I stayed home all day (hubs took my 4WD to work today at my insistence) and ended up taking a boatload of pictures. Put up eight of the day's favorites starting HERE on FLickr, if you'd care to have a look. Some cardinals, finches, blue jay, mourning dove and another junco. Most (including this one) were taken through the window - it was too snowy to take me or the camera outside.

Fifteen sleeps until Christmas. How did this happen?? I've given up on sending out Christmas cards this year, so I will instead send out New Year cards ...sometime in January. I never even got used to writing 2013, and now it's nearly 2015. Again I ask you ... how did this happen???

More snow in the forecast for Saturday. :)

Cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.