My Aim is True

By MAiT

The Quest - part 1

Up very early to commence the Quest.

Drove for miles to my destination

MAiT: hello, I'm here for The Thing
Friendly Vendor: Here's The Thing, waiting for you.
MAiT: excellent, it's just what I hoped for. And seeing as I am here, would you happen to have one of these (produces Teensy-Weensy Plastic Device)
FV: oh now that's actually a blah blah. We may have one, or maybe not...only my protege knows for sure. And he's not here. (sucks in air through teeth, shakes head sagely)
MAiT: (wringing hands) but what pray, can I do?
FV:WAIT A MINUTE. You will not find one here in the Land of the Verdant Berry Tree. But begone to the Hill of Sight. I have heard tell of many vendors with plentiful supplies. (MAiT leaves chanting mnemonic to help recall name of Teensy-Weensy Plastic Device

Arrives at the Hill of Sight
Less Helpfull Vendor: Yes?
MAiT: I am searching for this (produces Teensy-Weensy Plastic Device). And I believe it is named after a rocky penninsula and an American singer/songwriter renowned for his oblique ironic lyrics, and postmodern arrangements which often include samples, drum machines, live instrumentation and sound effects.
LHV: (visibly impressed with MAiT's knowledge) nope none in stock. Try a little further along

MAiT: (see above, showed the Not Very Friendly Vendor what's required)
NVFV: nope, try next door

MAiT: (ditto to Imperious Vendor)
IV: This is what you want isn't it? (produces teensy-weensy incorrect plastic device)
MAiT: no. Look, this is how my Teensy-Weensy Plastic Device operates
IV: (not overly impressed that layperson has such great knowledge of the workings of the Teensy-Weensy Plastic Device)Ah, okay. There is one in Englandshire. It shall be yours once the sun has set and risen again.
MAiT: splendid

...............to be continued

In other news; it was a lovely evening. And I went to church.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.