Another snowy day

A woke up to this scene this morning in my backyard. It was still coming down hard when I had to go out. It looked pretty but the roads were slick. As the day went on the snow slowed down and it warmed up just enough to clear the roads. It still looks pretty with snow sitting on all the branches of the trees and shrubs.

“Layer upon layer of soft-packed snowflakes settled in near silence, forming a quilt of feathery ice crystals.”
― Rebecca Nichols Alonzo

When I got home this afternoon my next-door neighbor’s 8-year-old son was outside in the snow with his friend and they were building a fort. I remember very clearly being a young child and it had snowed so much that there was enough snow to build an igloo type structure. I remember being able to crawl into it and it being so quiet in there. My siblings and I would make dozens of snowballs and store them inside.
A friend reminded me lately that snow isn’t just for children. It certainly provided me with photo opportunities today. I had a hard time choosing between the photos I took but settled on this one of my backyard because of how untouched it was by anyone or anything. The plow had already been down the street this morning by the time I had my camera out so the back looked much prettier than the front. I filled my birdfeeders in the hope to get some close up shots in the next few days. With the snow now, I think they will be more inclined to choose the seed over the berries in the trees.
The forecast is for more snow this weekend. Hello winter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.