Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Rug-a-Blip

Yesterday was a frustrating day. Having been a week behind the magazine schedule to begin with, the client really outdid herself by leaving me twiddling my thumbs with nothing to do, fully up to date and waiting for further material to come in. I heard from a colleague that she'd been 'unable to log into her computer', and excuse I found hard to make sense of.

And then, despite having time on my hands I was confined to the house because a service technician was due to call about my Freesat box which had been unresponsive since Sunday. As happens all to often, the problem had resolved itself by the time the technician arrived late in the afternoon. He ran a check and found a perfect signal coming from the satellite dish, which confirmed that the set-top box is causing the problem.

Finally, more material began to drift in this morning and I was able to keep myself gainfully employed with magazine design work. Once again, of course, this meant I didn't get out at all, so had to resort to blipping the rug under the nest of tables while taking an afternoon coffee break. (It's a rug with a story, actually, given to me for my 50th birthday by a couple of girls who were part of our 'family' back then. It's an all-the-way-from-India rug, I was delighted to get it, and I think of the girls every time I see it.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.