SorenT

By SorenT

Aerial Threat

Felt a bit rough after the night out, but at least I wasn't the only one!
Just going to briefly recount what I got up to on Saturday...

After the luxurious (hah) hostel breakfast I decided to go and take some photos by the Pier with the group that was heading to the Sea-Life centre. I tried the 70-300 for a bit and took millions of photos of a faraway man and his dog, with mixed results... blurry dog everywhere :S I rejoined the group further up the pier and watched in horror/amazement/stitches as various food-purchasing Photosocers were ambushed by dive-bombing seagulls. Luckily the Seagulls backed off before Mahfood & Co retaliated... Snapped today's pic amidst the carnage.

Joined the trip to the Sea-Life centre afterwards, which was... nice. Pretty serene after re-enacting Hitchcock's "The Birds"! I saw the subject of one of my favourite Oatmeal Comics which made me very happy :)

Unfortunately I struggled with the challenging conditions - gloomy indoors interspersed with bright lighting, reflective glass etc... I think a wider aperture lens would have helped - the 35/50mm 1.8 primes are growing more attractive by the day...

Afterwards we perused the Laines, which are now revered as ground zero for the genesis of the "Fog Bandit" myth which I find myself entangled/shrouded in... Andy took us to a couple of lovely pubs too, which was great.

Then came dinner - an all-you-can-cram Chinese buffet at Day's. Appetites were sated and then some... Drinks at the Font again after which was nice - some amusing people-watching providing a nice breathing space after the feast. A group assembled for clubbing afterwards but I wasn't really feeling it and so headed home after two Red Bulls failed to energise me!

Really good day with really good people, all in all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.