SeaGypsy49

By SeaGypsy49

A lily of some sort.

Driving home today from town, I saw a clump of these lillies growing at the entrance of someones driveway. But couldn't do them justice, as they were facing the wrong way for the sunlight.
I thought their name started with A, but couldn't find them in my gardening book. So if anyone know the name, please let me know.
I have backblipped for yesterday, when I went up to Pelorus River Bridge, This is where Peter Jackson filmed some of the scenes from "The Hobbit" movie.
Have found out the name of them. They are Hippeastrum amaryllis and are often seen as pot plants. These flowers were about the size of a bread & butter plate.Other names are Barbadpes Lily Giant Amaryllis, Fire Lily, Royal Dutch Amaryllis, according to my book. The are a native of Peru & flower in the summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.