SeaGypsy49

By SeaGypsy49

Rengarenga flowers. (Arthropodium cirratum)

A native of New Zealand, this tough lily grows in just about any place it can. Found in the North Island, and mainly around Marlborough and Nelson. It grows out of the stoney cliff faces, where the salt spray blows over it. Under trees with its roots almost in the water, and on dry, clay soil (like in my garden).
It self seeds, and if you have cows that get near it - its gone!! As the cows that we used to have, would make a bee line for it, every time they got into the garden.
The little flowers are about 1 in (or 25mm) across, and are in sprays on long stems. Not much good for picking, as they drop within a day, so best left in the garden. I have planted them in masses under the trees and were other plants wont grow.
Going out for dinner tonight at the Portage, yippee - two nights in a row when I haven't had to cook dinner. We went out to friends last night, who hold a BBQ at this time every year. Just had to take a salad & dessert to that. I had seen a nice pineapple in the Supermarket on Friday, so got that, then chopped it up for dessert.
Was told the dogs had barked the whole time we were out last night......... so today when I had them tied up, Poppy was barking & I had seen a Weka wandering around the place like it owned it. When she wouldn't stop I went out and put the dog trainer collar on her. She never uttered a sound for about 1/2 hour, then I went out & turned it off, and still she hasn't barked once. Not sure what will happen when I take it off. She certainly knows when she has it on, as she is very, very good. We have only used the sound zapper with her, as that seem to have a good effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.