it came... from the trees...

Not massively impressed with Treefest... apart from a couple of leaflets offering cheapish composting bins, a little sunburn on my neck between shirt-collar and hat-shadow, an idea of the price range of aspirational wooden furniture and a couple of hundred candid shots of festival-goers I didn't get a massive amount out of the day. Apart from a nice cornish pasty which I eventually chose over something from the Mexican food-wagon. Spotted someone I've met at a couple of Fickr meets but didn't knowingly encounter or furtively snap any blipsters as far as I know. At least it was nice and sunny so I could test the limitations of the telelens on action events and at a distance at the small range of apertures at which the fringing is tolerable. When it wants to be it can be pretty sharp but it's definitely no more than a little stop-gap until I can sneak something fancier into my bag at a christmas or birthday.

The journey to the event was slightly lengthened by Nicky deciding to buy a pretty dress and the journey home by the resultant requirement to get some shoes to accompany the feet which would protrude from the dress's lower hem. I did manage to persuade her to get some sandals instead of fancy-shoes but she then changed her mind at the last minute and went for an existing pair of fancy-shoes instead. Unluckily I still had to dress like a tit in a fancy shirt and shoes which didn't mitigate my profound feeling of unease all evening at the wedding reception of one of Nicky's colleagues and his new wife. The combined factors of not being dressed as myself and being at a large-ish social event (which featured (amongst other unpleasantnesses) association football-related colour balloons) where I knew almost no-one meant that I was mostly sitting there unconsciously scowling and wincing every time the horrible music increased in volume slightly. At least the DJ didn't seem to be enjoying himself either though it didn't stop the horribly undignified cheese-banter pitched at an even higher volume than the music.

A more peaceful day on Sunday. Quieter, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.