After the Rain

Today was the Palette Princesses Book Club at my house. So first thing, when I went down to get the paper, I took a short walk near my house and took some photos for today's blip. I knew I wouldn't have another chance until all the light had gone. Everything was covered in raindrops and looked quite wonderful. I posted the other pictures I took on Chaikins of Bellingham. I chose this euphorbia photo because I loved all those drops and how some of them were so colorful. You can see that better if you look at the large version.

I wasn't sure how many gals would arrive for book club. Turned out to be the biggest meeting we've had in a long time. Everybody came. Including Helena, Arvin and me there were 15 people. We all squeezed in to our big dining room table and a few sat at the table where the food was. Everybody brought wonderful salads and I made croissants from Trader Joe's, chocolate, pumpkin and almond. What I usually do is take them out and let them thaw awhile. Then I cut each one in half. They rise over night and I bake them next morning. I made three of each, cut in half made 18 smaller croissants. I think everybody had just one because when the party was over, there were three left.

We had a great discussion of the book, The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. Most of us loved the book. A few didn't. Several were not happy with the ending. I loved it myself and didn't mind the ending. As always we had lively discussions about lots of things along with finding a bit of time to talk about the book. ;-)

Sorry I haven't been commenting as much as usual lately. Last night instead of commenting I finished reading the book for today. As it was, it was close to 1:00 am when I finished it. :) Hopefully I'll have more time tonight to comment. Thanks to all who come by to look, comment and give me encouragement. I really appreciate your kindness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.