Tughluqabad

Still felt a bit ropey when I got up so I had the morning in bed. Our host came to the hotel to check I was ok and arranged a doctor that I could speak to. I was just going to leave the doctor until I got home but I'm glad I didn't as I got three seperate medecins and it was only 138 rupees.

Anyway In the afternoon I decided that since I'd missed Agra I had to see more of Delhi. Given that one of my workmates had left for another meeting in Mumbai the two of us remaining jumped in a taxi and did a tour. We went to the Lotus Temple, followed by Dilli Haat then Tughluqabad and finally Humayun's Tomb, which is also known as the mini Taj even though it predates the Taj itself.

Tughlaqabad was probably more impressive than anything else we saw. It was built in the early fourteenth ventury and is the third city of Delhi (Delhi actuallly consists of a series of seven cities which have been built in roughly the same location over the centuries.)

It's basically a massive fort with a circumference of six and a half kilometers. Our taxi driver said it's one of the lesser visited attractions of Delhi which astounds me as it was pretty staggering. It was certainly a great afternoon and gave a little taste of teh huge array of stuff to see in Delhi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.