Transitoire

By Transitoire

Accidental Christmas Meal

Well what was not really going to be a Christmas meal kind of turned into one. I really wanted to make a meal for Claire and Kat, since they have both been so generous in their meal giving to me. And then I realised I had a chicken that would feed four, so then asked Andy to join. And then Clare was in the kitchen at the same time. So then it kind of became an official Christmas meal by accident! So from left to right we have Claire, Kat, Clare and Andy.

The meal that I ended up making for everyone was a roast chicken, stuffed with lemons underneath the skin, covered in bacon, with rosemary potatoes underneath the roasting tray. The awesomeness of this dish is that you only need one roasting tray, and the lemon and chicken juices drop down onto the potatoes making an amazing lemony roast potato! To make the meal even better, Kat turned up at my door with an apple crumble ready to go into the oven for pudding! She had just finished writing an essay, and handed it in…so a lot of the stress for her was gone (ish!), for which I’m really glad! We all ended up having a few glasses of red wine, white wine and gin which is always a good start to an evening! It is so nice to just spend an evening in with friends every now and then, and these friends are good ones…got to keep hold of these ones!

Only done this chicken dish once this term, definitely need to do it more often…that one is gorgeous! Definitely stole it off Claire in our second year when we lived together, and I think she stole it off her mum, who probably got it from her mum…good dishes last! And Kat’s apple crumble was just amazing, especially since her and Andy ended up going back to the supermarket to get some custard to go with it…massive respect to the two of them!

My evening ended up in my room with Claire and Kat, and we watched the beginnings of Twelfth Night before we were so knackered we could barely keep our eyes open. Thank god it was my room and I didn’t have to get anywhere afterwards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.