The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Letter Press Printing in the workshop

Today I ran a stall at the 'Fayre' in the Steiner kindergarten next to Star Anis cafe, at the foot of Gloucester street, a street of which I seem to have talked about lately. It was primarily a printers' fayre, or a place for people to sell cute hand felted decorations, etc. I noticed that people are still cautious and not buying much unless they 'need it'. But I sold a few things and, more importantly, made some connections with the kindergarten. They say I can come back in the New Year and distribute my price list to the parents, and they'll help me promote my lotions and creams.

I bought a few things from other stall holders and did quite a lot of chatting. Alas, I made the mistake of locating my stall opposite the open door, and it was a cold rainy day, so I ended up wearing a kindergarten blanket! An interesting conversation with Bill Jones about autobiography resulted in my deciding to go and see Suggs (from the band Madness) on his forthcoming autobiography tour. CleanSteve came to pick me up about 4pm, and now we're at home in front of the fire. I still haven't submitted this week's homework for the life writing / autobiography course that I am doing online. How I wish the 12-week course had started earlier in the year, so that it would have finished by now!

These are some little examples of Dennis Gould's letter press printing work. His workshop is adjacent to the kindergarten, and his work is well known in Stroud and beyond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.