RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Unhappy Coach

How many times have I had this exact same look on my face after losing to a team that I expected to beat? This is Christian, coach to a select team of Zihuatanejo youth volleyball players, addressing his team following their most recent loss. I don't know a lot of Spanish, but I do know body language and voice tone and this is one upset coach. He talked to his kids for a good ten minutes after the match, while they exhibited a trait I saw many times during my coaching days - disinterest. Some were on the phones, some were changing gear, some we simply staring off into space as he went on and on. I never held long post match meetings, preferring to save whatever needed to be said for the next practice when we could actually do something about it. Different styles, but similar expressions following the same outcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.