Tyred

Today was my last day at the Empire State aka Dental Hell Centre, and as always there was a challenge! Not content with having me work in the decon/stock room again, the computers decided they were calling in sick.

This is a big deal to us as every last little bit of information is on them; without access to this I don't know who's waiting, any medical alerts or past history of their teeth.
Fortunately, my first two patients I had seen previously so could piece together what was required.

After around 45 minutes of meddling by the two dentists, with server/cables and anything else computer related an expert solved the problem and we were back online.

Work wise, the rest of the day was uneventful, with everyone wishing me well for the New Year.

However.....at lunchtime, I decided to have my usual mooch into Sainsburys. Ever feel compelled to do something and you don't know why?? Well, I remembered I had a voucher in my car so went to get it and lo and behold...flat back tyre! If I hadn't have gone for the voucher, I doubt I would have noticed the tyre after work in the gloom of the car park.

So full on panic mode activated! I wouldn't attempt to change it myself so thought maybe try to re inflate it. Typically the air unit at Sainsburys was out of order.

I know you aren't meant to drive on a flat but there was no other option I forgot about my breakdown cover! so I slowly made my way around to the nearest garage.
This wasn't a garage when I got there but a car sales place (remember I'm not from round those parts).
Long story short, a very kind mechanic came off his lunch break to assess the tyre (doomed) and replace it with the spare. My damsel in distress routine worked a treat!!

Mr A was prime suspect as he'd been messing about in the garage over the weekend with screws & bits of wood, but he made sure he swept the floor after he'd done to make sure I wouldn't run over anything pointy. He was relieved when I sent him the photo as the flat headed screw (pictured) got him off the hook as he never uses them!
He's promised to sort me a new tyre on his day off too, so alls well that ends well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.