Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A handy fence

Popped into town early to get some SD cards. As I passed my bank, I popped in to warn them that if they see sudden withdrawals of £100s in Africa, it’s not that nice chap who keeps emailing me telling me I have a fortune waiting if I just send my bank details. No - it’ll be legitimate.

‘I’m going to Tanzania’. She took note and was going to inform all and sundry of our holiday.

As I went out, I shouted back, having forgotten to mention it,
‘I’m going on safari!’

There was only one other customer in the bank and she just stared at me, unsmiling. Jealous, obviously.

I then got the SD cards and as I was paying for them, I told the chap why I needed them. He was very excited for me.

On the bus home was a young mother with a baby in the pram. The young mother had headphones on. Proper big ones. The baby began to cry. The baby went on crying. The baby cried some more. The woman sitting behind the mother tapped her on the shoulder and pointed to the baby. The young mother dismissed her, acknowledging that she knew it was crying, and continued listening to her music. As I got off at the next stop, I exchanged concerned looks with the helpful woman.

Actually, maybe it was an audio book and it was at a cliff hanger and she tended to the baby after I got off....

Had a quick pop back into town this evening. I spotted this ‘statue’ ages ago and have been meaning to take a photo. There was a handy fence that I could lean the camera on for the long exposure.

Three more sleeps…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.