Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

No Fishing Today

I took my iMac in for repair after my morning pétanque game. I walked up to the service counter, gently set it down, and waited for the technician to examine it and make his diagnosis.

The machine is about three years old, ancient by today's standards. I thought I might be faced with an expensive repair at best, or -- worst case scenario -- a replacement. After my recent purchase of an iPad and a table saw, my credit card was already stretched.

The tech connected the power cord, pushed the start button -- and it started! He made a few checks and gave my iPad a clean bill of health. All it had needed was an SMC (System Management Controller) reset. Apparently I had already done this by unplugging the power cord and waiting a few minutes.

I happily put the iMac back in the car and went to the part of the harbor where the fishing fleet and larger pleasure boats are moored. I walked all the way to the end of the last float before I found this photo, getting down on one knee to shoot under the bow mooring line and using the DDD (dark dreary day) setting -- otherwise known as Dramatic Tone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.