Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

A guy named Guy

Meet Guy. I was on my way into the city centre and stopped to take some photos of the stonework and gargoyles on the Catholic Cathedral when I became aware of someone stood next to me.

'Why don't you take a photo of me? I'm more interesting than them stoney-faced buggers. Mebbe not as handsome, but I'm more interesting'

Okay, I said. And he adjusted his hood and his specs, put his rucksack down and told me that he was ready.

He was really happy with the result, and then introduced himself as Guy, who mainly slept on the streets or in temporary accommodation in Norwich. He has lived like this for years, he said, and had nine children who he saw from time to time. He also told me that he was an alcoholic but that didn't stop him from being polite and interested in people.

We spoke a bit about some of the other people who are often seen on the streets in Norwich, and I asked him if I could give him a couple of quid as he had been kind enough to let me take his photo.

He thanked me for my offer, took the money and wished me a good night.

I'm glad I bumped into him.

In a bit I'm off out for the uke society christmas bash. Last year I won the star prize in the raffle. It was a rather nice ukulele. Roland was mortified so I have promised not to do it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.