Capital adventures

By marchmont

Not the bake off

Today was more like a Christmassy day. I made mince pies with my homemade mincemeat and iced the cake. I used to take a long time over that but then that was in the days when I made a large cake and family ate it and every year it was a Christmas 'work of art'. Now it's 6" and I'll be the one that eats it, possibly my birthday cake. So the decoration is minimal. I think I need some new Christmas cake decorations.

I wrapped a few presents, and wrote a couple of special cards. Then a miracle, sister J phoned from France. The first call in 6 months (I hope you hear the deep irony in that news).

And finally a 'Santa run' to the folks. Dad fell last Friday. Not good and Mum worries. They are having an IOU Christmas this year, but it sounds like they will have the company of the 3 grandsons on Christmas Day.

So now a quiet evening before 4 very hectic and long days. TV and a glass or two, I think. Off North on a train tomorrow, weather permitting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.