All Shopped Out

Out of Turkeys but big reductions on Little Girls

(you might have to go large to get that one!)

There were just the two of us in the office today but there were no real issues to deal with. It was quiet in town as well, with the exception of the supermarket. I didn't dare go inside but reports from the emerging survivors were that it was bedlam. I found quite a lot of Christmas cheer yesterday (and thank you so much for the response to yesterday's blip), but very little around at all today. Indeed, all the people I spoke too were rather grumpy. Rather oddly, I experienced the reverse of yesterday's process. I left the office in quite good cheer but arrived back somewhat melancholy. It didn't help that it was perishing cold in the strong wind. It could also be that it's only those people who have been putting Christmas off to the last minute that are actually out and about on Christmas Eve. Those who fully embrace the spirit of Christmas were probably done and dusted last week and have been sitting smugly in front of the fire all day, admiring their exuberantly decorated trees with glasses of mulled wine in their hands.

So I was reminded today that Christmas is a hard time of year for a lot of people. It can feel very lonely for some. I chatted briefly to Ann here. She told me that her Christmas cheer had run out yesterday. We had a bit of a laugh but the portrait I took of her captured an underlying sadness. Let's spare a thought tomorrow for those whose Christmas day might not be as full of joy as I hope yours is going to be.

For all those people who visit my journal, including many I've not said a personal hello to for a very long time (I'm really sorry), have a truly wonderful Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.