Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

The making of the challah

This is my one holiday baking tradition. I started making challah about 25 years ago. Every December, somewhere around the Solstice (or sooner if there are potlucks to attend), I haul out the big mixing bowl and the heavy duty wooden spoon, gather the ingredients (simple fare: flour, yeast, butter, eggs, salt, water, honey), put on The Nutcracker CD and have at it. I love the process, love the mixing and kneading, the braiding and baking (the house smells divine!). And I love the way it looks - rather dramatic and impressive, don't you think?

The whole process is documented here.

Tomorrow we're going to Laurie's cousin's house for Christmas dinner and good visiting. I'm taking a loaf of the challah. I feel slightly intimidated - her cousin's son Tom, who I'll be meeting for the first time, is the Vice President's chef. Yes, that Vice President. (I do hope Tom's cooking dinner tomorrow!)

Happy Holidays to everyone, whatever you celebrate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.