Plus ça change...

By SooB

Striking a chord

The article was in the paper today, and it's not bad. They quote the points I make in my letter, and then quote the points the organisation made in reply. Obviously I think my points are all well-founded and reasonable and their points are all lies, or else I wouldn't have written the letter in the first place. So, no surprises really. The article, if you're interested, is on p3 of the East Lothian Courier. It's not on the on-line version yet (or I can't find it) but is called: "Charity Refutes Claims" if anyone cares to search for it.

I haven't been subject to the predicted lynching in the village (yet - did I see some men busy constructing stocks on the green?) and indeed have had lots of support. It's all about transparency: if the charity has nothing to be ashamed of, then they should be honest about their mission and methods.

My mind was very much on the religion in schools issue today, I was chatting to a friend a wee while ago whose son has recently started school and they've been taken by surprise by the religious content of assemblies. So I had a few hours researching that. Imagine my surprise when Katherine came out of school today clearly bursting to tell me something.

"How was your day?" I asked
"We had to write a prayer"
"Why?"
"For the Harvest Assembly. We had to write to thank God for the good harvest."
"And how did you feel about that?"
"I didn't like it. I told Mrs ________ that I didn't want to write a prayer because I'm not religious. She said that didn't matter, that some people are like that, and I should write it anyway."
"Did you write it?"
"Yes, but she says someone will have to read their prayer out in assembly and I don't want to."

Sigh. And so it begins. Again. In P1 she had a creationist teacher and was in tears (Katherine, not the teacher) when I explained geology to her because she thought I was lying. I let it go that time because it was all new to me and I didn't want to make a fuss. Now I'm just sad and depressed about the whole thing - but have to say something. Happily parent/teacher consultations are just around the corner.

Anyway, to the picture. For anyone who's read this far, there's a contest, and a PRIZE. Here is the inside of our piano. The lid is unusually up because it's started making some horrible vibrating noises with the lid down. Mr B is playing a chord. If you can guess the chord, you'll get a package of the finest Geordie Granny fudge that money can't buy, delivered to your door.

The only clues I can give you are:

- it's a minor chord
- this is the middle bit of the piano
- there are 4 notes being played (the odd looking damper hard up against the cross-bar at the back of the shot is not being played, it always looks like that)

Good luck...

QUICK EDIT: In case I have waaaay misjudged the hardness of this test... only the first person to guess the chord gets fudge... Any subsequent correct guesses just get the satisfaction of being right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.