lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

Boxing Day kingfishers

Christmas is always quite stressful being with family and other visitors and I don't get much time alone. Today though I went back to the park near to where I used to live, in search of kingfishers. I saw one within a minute of arriving but it didn't stick around long.

I spent a few hours walking around the very muddy park looking for kingfishers. I was rewarded with quite a lot of sightings, a few of which stuck around long enough for me to get a number of photos. I also saw a two little egrets, another favourite of mine around there. As the sun was setting, the temperature dropped and mist started rising from the river. I headed back to the car and on the way I spotted this beautiful specimen swoop down to catch something in the river and then he sat on this branch long enough for me to get a few photos.

Seeing all these beautiful birds has greatly improved my mood. I've got work tomorrow but it's only the one day and then it's the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.