Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Whitby in December

Hard to believe, but the long shadows and the way people are dressed give it away. It was a fresh but glorious winter day and fish and chips in Whitby is a Xmas period tradition in this family stretching back almost 15 years. We've even driven there in snow in years gone by.

Unfortunately Diana couldn't join us. Unwell again and has not got out of bed all day. I'm sitting on the bed eating my dinner and reviewing today's pictures. Not much I can do for her, but she appreciates my presence, or at least I think she does. Guests downstairs, but the rest of the family are taking care of them.

Sacrilege, I had pie and chips instead of fish and chips. Had fish yesterday and couldn't face anything quite so greasy today. A bit delicate after emptying one and a bit 2.5L wine boxes with Andrew last night. Played games last night and everyone joined in for a change. It was hilarious, I suspect largely due to my erratic play as the wine took hold. Dixit, a new game for Xmas proved particularly popular.

Only 2 days left before we return home. Our plans for new years eve have been scuppered at the last minute, so it may be a quiet night in for 2. Given Diana's health right now, probably not a bad idea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.