Obfuscated Design

By obfuscatedesign

The studio!

Many Blips ago In a galaxy far far away I talked about this studio that we had created in Motorheads old practice rooms. Weeks later I returned to help with some of the problems and to pick up some of my mics and gear.

This is the shot of about £5k worth of gear being crammed into a dusty old room with barely enough space to fit it all in, but regardless - it did fit, and it did work and the results are pretty spectacular bearing in mind the lack of good room acoustics and the band recording their CD with only the knowledge that I had given them those weeks ago. A mini crash course in how to record if you will. I set up the mics on the drums, showed them how to best place them - explained the physics of it all to them and some basic concepts and ideas of recording.

With only 6 phone calls with questions for the entire 2 weeks I was really quite impressed. I've included a link below to one of the songs they recorded - this was finished yesterday. It has not been mixed or mastered, only the levels have been set.

Enjoy.

Click here to listen to Pirates.

PS. I have a favour to ask of someone not living in the UK. I have a googlemail address. But i want a gmail address. Unfortunately in the UK you can't get them as a small company was already using the name gmail.

The favour is.. could someone register a gmail account for me? I'll just change the password and ta daaaa! I now have a gmail address instead of a stupid googlemail (which takes far too long to write/type it out every time).

Anyone up for the job?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.