'Princes Pier Sunrise'

I had trouble sleeping last night, I think I've been thrown out after sleeping most of the day on Saturday with a tummy bug, so I decided to get up early and drive down to Princes Pier to watch the sunrise.

When I arrived there, it was still dark and the gates were all locked which was unusual because every other time I've been there early there are normally a few keen fishermen that have beaten me. I found a gap at one end of the gate big enough for me to push my camera bag through and them roll under myself.

Then a security guard spotted me and asked me how I got in there and what I was doing and that I was being filmed on numerous security cameras. I said that I just wanted to capture the sunrise down at the old pier and he let me go as he was opening the gates in another 10 or 15 minutes anyway.

I was there all by myself as the sun showed up over the horizon and the 'Spirit of Tasmania' pulled into Station Pier next door. The morning light was great this morning and took about a dozen long exposures before heading home.

Everyone was still asleep by the time I walked back in the door just after 7am.

I think we are off Raspberry picking today up at Kinglake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.