Capital adventures

By marchmont

Wet, wet, wet

Well another day of deep gloom, darkness and heavy rain.

I got up later having not got in till the wee, small hours. luckily the rain hadn't arrived when I walked up to the taxi rank. The party was very enjoyable. Mostly choir folk, who'd been before. As well as a decorated slipper competition there was also a decorated name badge competition. I didn't enter either, I didn't even know about the name badge one. The surroundings were stunning, 3 storey New Town townhouse and the hospitality liberal. It was a catered event - the champagne flowed and the canapes intrigued. At the end there was a group sing song accompanied by various musicians present. It was a lovely evening.

So no wonder I wasn't up till nearly 10. It clearly wasn't going to be a nice day, like yesterday. #3 son and new girlfriend were already out by the time I surfaced so I still have to meet P.

Time for some projects. I always have a list of things I need to do in the Christmas/New Year holidays that I don't get round to the rest of the year. The painting and varnishing of the new banister is on this year's list but I need to be in the mood for that. So I tidied away all my random jewellery and other detritus that was lying around in my room. I made broth, booked some work travel (quicker to do at home than on our very slow connection in the office) and started today's Project.

I bought this multiple frame about 2 years ago. It's never been up on the wall but us filled with PCs from the 'secret postcard society'. However, it is destined to be filled with selected holiday pics from KL and Turkey. I've selected the chosen ones, tweaked colour and exposure and cropping in most of them. All I have to do now is get the blooming printer to work.

The culmination of this project may have to wait until tomorrow. I have an evening engagement, out to friends for a meal.

I hope it's not too soggy for all those venturing up Calton Hill tonight. I read there are to be fireworks and son et lumiere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.