Capital adventures

By marchmont

For want of a bulb

A beautiful morning and I thought 'I'll go climb a hill, Arthur's Seat perhaps'. Then as I'm going down the stairs the bulb went.

After breakfast and saying farewell to #3 son's #1 ex-g/f (don't ask!), I set off for Margiotta, but in the car in case I had to go on to Homebase. Almost immediately I decided to go straight to the green place. And there was a sale on +20% off.

So after perusing the lightbulbs for ages (when did they get so complicated?), I bought a plug, for the fuse, and then headed towards the garden centre. Well, I need pots for the new bay trees and they had rasps and I needed potting compost, oh and in the main store, undercoat and varnish for the banister. And very quickly I'd spent £100+. The view of Salisbury Crags was stunning and clearly it was very popular as there were loads of people atop. But by the time I came out I reckoned it was a bit too late to start climbing hills. I might get up, but getting down ....

So home, to empty and fill washing machines and tumble driers, for sons. #3 son's #3 g/f is here tonight (I said, don't ask). And then I went to change the bulb.

Doh! Somehow I'd, in all the dithering over bulbs, to buy a screw fitting not a bayonet.

So out to Straiton to change it. But once home I discovered it was the wrong type of bayonet fitting. So back to the green place (the car park is horrendous because of new build) for another set of bulbs. Third time lucky!

Sadly on the way home from St Leonard's I saw the aftermath of an accident involving a cyclist. Paramedics were there. Hope s/he's ok.

So that was Sunday, running to and fro to a DIY store. For the want of a bulb, the hill was lost - and this is the closest I got to it, the view from my room.

Must dash, off to a party in the New Town. A shoe free zone, I'm told and they have a novelty slipper competition. I won't be competing! Unless I can make them look like lightbulbs, that is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.