carliewired

By carliewired

On Guard

As evening settles
in the Foothills, one raptor
pauses in the light.

~ carliewired

I was busy getting my postcards ready for the mailbox when I heard a lot of vocals outside on the street. I just had to go outside to find out what all the commotion was about.

My neighbour was at his gate looking across the street at the flagpole in the front yard there. At the top of the pole, an eagle could be seen in silhouette against the last light of the day. Neighbours down the street had been hooting and calling to it, trying to get it to fly so they could take photos. The plan wasn't working. The eagle remained on its perch completely unperturbed. I had time to pop back into the house to get my camera.

In the US, one should not fly the nation's flag on a flagpole overnight/in the dark, unless the flag/flagpole is lighted. In my neighbourhood many flagpoles have lights such as this one. Some also have spotlights on the flag. My neighbour's flag is not up as they are away for the moment. For some reason they did not turn off the light rope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.