Happy Valley

By HappyValley

Kill the daemons

DDW December 2013 Challenge Day 31: A New Years Resolution

I feel truly blessed, I am SO happy with my life. I am a positive, chirpy little soul. I see good in people and when they have personal insecurities I find it hard to believe they could think that way about themselves. I can give them a million and one reasons why what they think is untrue. An utter waste of energy. And pointless. And self destroying. So why can't I listen to my own advice?

I have a huge hangup about my face, I think I'm ugly, I think facially I have aged badly, I hate looking in mirrors. I like my body - I can exercise and change it's shape if I want to. But there's not a lot I can do about my face. If I could walk around naked with a bag over my head, that would do me just fine thanks (might have to move to a warmer climate though ;)

I ignore my stupid insecurity and bimble along being happy as Larry...which is fine until I catch sight of myself in a mirror, then I recoil, panic and then quickly lock my thoughts away again in the back of my mind.

So there we have it. 2014 is the year to bare all my guts, dig out all those daemons from the back of my brain, interrogate them, pull them to pieces, stamp on them and squish them into the ground! This year I will take on those monsters and one way or another I shall win.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.