Brotographer

By Brotographer

Milho Verde // Facing Transit

A full day of transit. Early wake up to grab a cab with Gil, the local taxi guy and pizza-place owner. We left the sleepy town of Sao Goncalo and drove through the beautiful arid landscapes of the region for an hour to Serro. On the way, we passed through another isolated town, Milho Verde, which looked like another great place to stay. I asked Gil to stop so I could grab this shot of Milho Verde before passing through, the sunrise lighting was beautiful. At Serro, we chilled until the bus for Belo Horizonte arrived. Another six hours on the road, with a small break for crap lunch. At BH (where we had a below-average avocado milkshake), we grabbed another bus for the airport (where I had a beer which a fly fell into), and there got the plane back to Sao Paolo (another crap meal on the plane). Only good meal of the day was breakfast, transit food is disappointing. We managed to get an early flight which was nice, and made it home where we crashed pretty fast.

Conclusion: Minas Gerais has been amazing, it's been all about the scenic towns amidst beautiful landscapes.

--

So here’s something for the new year, a goal, not a resolution. It may sound kind of boring, but I’m gonna record the time I spend in transit every day of the year, here on blip. Why? Well, I’ve spent a ridiculous amount of time on long-distance buses this break, on ski tour and here in Brazil. It’s all been worth it of course. But at the same time, it’s draining. I spend quite a few days in transit every year. Sure, I'm not like a businessman or even someone who commutes several hours a day, but it racks up quite a bit if you add up all the cars, buses, planes, trains… So I’ll be writing down all the transit hours and seeing how much of my year I’ve spent traveling, when it’s the end of 2014. Nothing exciting, just there to satisfy my curiosity I suppose.

peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.