Evening on Orewa beach

I'm slightly puzzled by this image. Dad and I went down to the beach for a picnic this evening. Many others were doing likewise, playing games, walking, swimming etc. But there is hardly anyone in the photo.

Perhaps it reflects something of what we both felt, lovely to be there but a bit sad and empty too.

I awoke shattered. No real surprise there. My running shoes haven't hit the tarmac today. My morning was active with plenty of house work chores accomplished. After approximately 40 people here for the after match bbq yesterday it needed doing.

Dad and I both had Nana-naps this afternoon. I also booked a flight home on Monday. That will mark another first for both of us. We've seen Stephen and Judith, and Jennie and Nick at different times of the day too. We have plenty of laughs too, along with the tears.

This is very strange territory without Mum. I'm under no illusions the hardest days are yet to come for all of us.

One day at a time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.