Don't try this at time

I've found myself a reluctant participant in a typical Stephen (brother) do-it-yourself scheme. This time he's replacing Dad's TV aerial.

*Sigh* I'm of the opinion middle aged men and roofs should never mix, especially those who have previously tumbled off a roof but miraculously escaped with no more than bruising to body and ego. Call me a sensible woman but there are some things I think you should pay an expert to do.

Today's roof antics involved a rope, climbing harness, several karabiners and an ascender so improvements have been made. But I dubious of the throwing the rope over the roof plan and tying it to the front of the 4-wheel drive. I was equally dubious about the "special roof ladder" I helped manoeuvre onto the roof but then didn't fit Dad's roof (surprise, surprise).

Most dubious of all was the discovery my 86 year old Dad still owns a ladder. I thought we'd nipped that tendency in the bud!

Mostly it went ok in a British comedy kind of way. Fortunately my mountain experience meant I was wary of my brother up on the roof and out of sight of where I poised to receive parts of the old aerial. I heard the clunk and instinctively ducked. The dropped wrench skimmed harmlessly off my shoulder instead of my head. Then there was the oddity where we had to turn the small TV on in order for the big TV to work. Hmmmm.... But we got there in the end.

Mum would have had a fit.

Then it was out in the boat for a late afternoon and early evening fish. Dad, Stephen and I took the bro-in-law Nick along too. Dad loved it and had a wonderful time. He caught by far the most fish and enjoyed the bird life, fish action and warmth of the sun. I even had a 5 second period where Nick and I were holding the boat at the ramp and laughing when I forgot Mum has died.

It's been a day where we chatted as a family over coffee and fresh cheese puffs (a recipe Mum made when we were growing up). Late in the evening we finished off with Thai takeaways cider and beer.

A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.