Happy Dook Day

So in Queensferry, and frequently on my blip, the first on january is marked with the loony dook where a load of hardy souls charge into the freezing waters of the Forth.

Ordinarily I'd take photos of the actual event, but not this year as I was in the water instead. Thankfully I was wearing thermakl layers and a dry suit as I was in there on RNLI duty. You can see me just behind the shoulder of the girl on the right here, and second from the left here.

I saw tfp there too, but as yet he hasn't uploaded his blip.

I did manage to get photos at the lifeboat station beforehand when people were registering, so I managed to get a shot of former college student Gemma and her husband Paul before they took the plunge. They made the Scotsman too.

After all the excitement I got time to get home for a hot bath and a nap then we headed out for the Lifeboat crew New Year dinner up at Frankie an Bennies for crew, DLA's, the LOM and partners. It was a great way to finish off the day. As I'm duty crew for the night no drinking for ne though.

A very happy new year to every one

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.