Anhinga in my tree

I am adding this entry to Cathaber's Sound Illustration Challenge. Today I heard both this Anhinga and another one that flew in and joined him in the tree, croaking! I thought it sounded like a duck, but later found their call is described best as a raspy croaking - go here - then scroll down just a bit until you see the audio players for the various calls of the anhinga.

I had some other clearer shots that showed his true colors when he was sitting in the tree (over the river), but I liked this silhouette I got as he was flying from one branch to another, the best. I blipped a different  -or maybe not- anhinga back in November, you can view it here. In that blip you can see it's lovely gold & black colors and how it spreads it's wings to dry them off after swimming in the water -yes, swimming in the water! Quite amazing birds! And photographing them today I realized just how large they can be.

Well, my first blip of 2014! I am beginning my 4th year of blipfoto, wow.
I am happy to be here with you! Let's ring in a fabulous new year : -)
p.s. Dec 31st was back blipped, why don't you join us in the Tiki Hut . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.