The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Many hands

In the 1960s and 70s, we used to go for family walks like this. But not in the Cotswolds, obviously, because I lived in the Republic of Ireland and the west highlands of Scotland!

My friend Eileen, whom I have known for 33 years, and her daughter Kirstie came over to play, and we played Bananagrams and ate chocolate money, and rejoiced because the sun was finally shining again. The people who lived in darkness finally saw the great light. That was how it felt.

After a home-made soup lunch, we drove to Painswick beacon, in the Cotswolds, an Iron Age hill fort with a view out over seven counties. We like to go to a high place at New Year, but yesterday was a no-no. The breeze at the top was stiff but the light and the landscape spectacular. Not great for layered-cloud type photos (I'm no Colin Baxter, but would like to be) so I chose this picture of co-operation in action. Reminds me of family walks, though we didn't usually have a fifth member whose function was to take phone shots. Oh, but we didn't have phones...

Then I did some star jumps for CleanSteve's blip. I accidentally left my sunglasses on a knoll, and did not realise it till we were back in the car and the low sun was blinding me. Why 'they' have not yet invented a docking system for sunglasses and heads is quite beyond me! Just a discreet clip on the side of the skull would do. I am very fond of mine, as they control my hairstyle and my eyes are sensitive to bright light. Sadly, I break or lose at least one pair per year.

Back home, we had some crumpets and Christmas cake, and now it's time to, er, do nothing again! I'm off to London tomorrow, if I can remember how to catch a train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.