The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The meeting tree

This tree stands at the junction of Stroud's Lower Street and Middle Street. At times during the day it is the meeting place for street drinkers. Technically, street drinking has been outlawed in Stroud, but people who can't afford to frequent pubs do still need somewhere to meet, and society doesn't generally frown on pub users or those who drink at, say, cocktail parties or dinner parties. The tree is also near Stroud Valleys primary school, so I sometimes see parents and siblings of pupils there, at letting-out time. The little green at the base of the tree is tended by a local woman, rather than the council. She does a good job of it.

I used to live in Middle Street, and then later in Whitehall, beyond Middle Street, so this tree is familiar to me. I pass this place nearly every single day as I make my way to and from town.

Back to the image: I had been thinking about John Bergers' book, Ways of Seeing, which I've never actually read, and wondering if it would be possible for me to see something no one had ever seen before. I came to the conclusion that I might be more likely to see something I'd personally never noticed before, by developing my powers of observation. Then I saw the light on the tree, and the shape of the triangle of pavement, and thought I'd try to capture it. Not sure how well I have succeeded.

Talking of street drinkers / school gate parents reminds me of another tribe, dog walkers. A great narrative about the intertwining lives of Carribean dog walkers can be found in http://www.peepaltreepress.com/single_book_display.asp?isbn=9781900715478&au_id=24

Today I was meeting a friend, Helen, for coffee in Black Books cafe. She has recently moved to Wales, but was back for a working visit. We had a great catch-up over a soya hot chocolate (nicer than it sounds!) and then I headed off for some food shopping. Ended up buying a beautiful top in a clothing sale in my favourite shop, Eclipse, where I also bumped into a parent from school and her son, and an old friend looking for something to wear at a funeral. Was glad that 'my' funeral was over, and that I won't have to wear an itchy tweed skirt again!

At home, I managed to do the entire concise crossword from the i, and make the flourless chocolate orange cake (Nigella's recipe) that Cailleach had urged me to try. I have visitors tomorrow, if that's any excuse...While it cooked, we caught up with the university challenge semi-final, and my alma mater, Edinburgh, was knocked out. Shame! I have a personal interest, as I knew two of the team while at uni, and another is the writer Philippa Gregory, whose work I sometimes enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.