The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Fallen giant

Sussex has suffered a lot in the recent storms. During the night of the 23rd of December, it rained non - stop, and blew a gale, resulting in widespread flooding and trees being blown over. Whilst most of the trees have now been cleared off the roads, there is still a lot of flooding, resulting in large puddles that cover the whole road and make me hold my breath as I drive through them.
Today the weather has been fairly reasonable, with quite a bit of sunshine (although it's raining again now), so I went out for a quick trip to my local Southwater Country park to see if I could find anything worth blipping.
The country park was flooded, but the paths were passable, and I did see swans, quite a few gulls and 4 cormorants sitting on the jetty, wings out looking like the grim reaper. However on the way home I noticed this HUGE oak tree that had literally been 'snapped off' by the wind! This tree was absolutely enormous and goodness knows how old, while I was waiting for a chance to drive past I quickly took a few pics, you can see the size, in relation to the oncoming car and the road.
More wind and rain tonight......I am praying all my trees will survive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.