White Agapanthus

There was no walking on the Wither Hills early this morning. In fact I doubt whether anyone at all got up there until after lunch. I woke to gale force nor-west winds and racing clouds. The Wither Hills is no place to be in a gale. Let alone with camera and tripod.
So it was out with the dogs in the rain which started after 8.am. The wind was still roaring despite the rain. No chance of using an umbrella. Then the wind dropped and the rain became torrential. The umbrella went up but I was already very wet... Luckily it has not been cold. I do feel so sorry for folk who are camping during these holidays.
I attempted to capture a few images from under the shelter of my umbrella but gave up in the end. I had to go into town around lunchtime and although I was caught in a heavy downpour I managed to photograph some white agapanthus flowers. They were growing alongside a corrugated iron fence which provided a rather nice background. I have changed this image to black and white in Nik. I rather like the effect.
I am constantly inspired by the wonderful monotone images that some Blippers show the world. So this coming year I am going to have a go at producing more monotone images. This will provide me with some challenges as I have not focused on turning out many black and white images in the past. I shall see how it goes…….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.