Nor'Westers on Lyttelton Harbour

A break away from valley life today has seen me and Mrs H head for our 'bach' (aka Mum and Dad's place) at Charteris Bay.

It's been a blustery one today, with plenty of Nor'West heat to accompany the gales. As soon as the worst of the wind had subsided, which was by then early evening, I walked down to the point by the boat ramp to capture the sea breaking around the lovely volcanic stone outcrops on the waters edge.

To get the swirling waves effect I used my variable 9-stop ND filter. I think I'm at about 8 stops here, hence the ability to slow the camera down to around 1.6" in the mellow evening sun (as a comparison without the filter I would have been shooting at ISO100, f16 1/320!). Never leave home without it when you're shooting seascapes I reckon....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.