Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Time to reflect.

What a perfect day Ros and I had today. We started the day with a drive to Canal Rocks near Yallingup and a walk along the new board walk and breathing in the ocean air, and reflecting on times gone by. Lovely conversation about the men in Ros' life who have had a special relationship with the ocean in one way or another: her father with his crayfishing off the coast at Dongarra, John with his love of the sea as a young man in the Merchant Navy and the recent times he spent with Michael in his boat in Karratha, and Michael's love of fishing and snorkelling, and the story of a fish that got away.

We then went to Yallingup Maze and had a small morning tea of apple and date cake and a coffee. I had a bit of fun solving a couple of the puzzles they bring to your table – I was very pleased with the first one thinking I was some kind of puzzle champion until I realised that it was difficulty level 1 (being the easiest). But I did go on to solve another one quickly and that renewed my faith in my ability (I stopped while I was ahead).

From there a drive along Caves Road back through Margaret River and on to Voyager Winery for a delicious lunch. We had visited there a few days before to find it was fully booked for a couple of days but fortunately there was a space for us on Friday (Perfect as it was the day before Ros headed back to Perth). The gardens, the buildings, the inside and outside at Voyager Winery are lovely and well worth a look even if you don't stay for a wine tasting or lunch. (I was disappointed that the woman who had taken our booking previously had not recorded it and didn't give any apology for her mistake and almost acted as though I was in the wrong...which I most definitely wasn't on this occasion). Anyway the stuff up allowed us time to go and enjoy a wine tasting..bargain..and we were shortly shown to our table and well looked after by the waitstaff.

And now is when I took the photo above. We both ordered a glass of the Sav Blanc Semillon to come before our meal and we liked the way the windows of the restaurant were reflecting in the glass and so out came the camera. I took several photos and even though this one is perhaps considered underexposed I prefer it as it is all about the reflections.

Ros chose to have Wagyu beef as she had heard of it before but never tasted it, and I had the lamb rump – both meals were perfectly cooked and the flavours were superb and I got almost as much pleasure watching Ros enjoy her meal to the very last mouthful as I got from eating my own delicious lamb.

After lunch a drive on to Leeuwin Estate Winery for a look, then to Watershed Winery on Bussell Highway where we enjoyed a piece of mascarpone and cappuccino cake and a coffee. That rounded of a perfect day and needless to say neither of us needed dinner.

It was good to take Time to Reflect and share memories with my very dear friend of 30 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.