Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Lulu and stick insect

In recent days I have headed out with my camera with the specific purpose of practicing photography. I might drive to a special location or wander around my garden; I might have a project in mind or I perhaps just be looking to see what catches my attention. I have been experimenting with the different settings on my Nikon D90 and taking it off auto.

But sometimes an unexpected moment presents itself and that is what happened today. I was at my son's home this afternoon watching my grandchildren play in the garden when Lulu found a stick insect. Look nana! Quick, where's a camera. I grabbed the nearest one, a Panasonic Lumix (fortunately battery charged and SD card ready) and quickly took a couple of photos of Lulu holding the insect before it fled. There was little time for me to consider the background, the lighting, the composition...this time it was just a matter of point and shoot and hope to capture a moment that soon became a memory.

For me, these kinds of photos are as important to include in my 365 days as the ones that have more technical and artistic merit as they tell a story. This one is about a day in the life of a little girl; trampoline, ball and stick insect.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.