WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

At the lake

... with apologies for the unimaginative title.

Today is the second anniversary of my first ever blip. I haven't reached 730 yet, because I have carelessly managed to lose 30 days along the way -- goodness knows what happened to them.

On the first day, I decided I had to start somewhere ... I just stepped out of the door and took a photo of the first thing I saw. At least it got me going! Today, it was another grey day, and I was so committed to getting a blip that wasn't yet another photo of vines or lone trees that I got in the car and drove in the direction that the sky looked brightest -- which happened to be the Minervois.

As you can see, it was only relatively sunny there. I took quite a few photos at the Lac de Jouarres, an artificial lake that's very popular in summer but was nearly deserted today. When I got home I spent even longer dithering between two photos. S's vote went to this one, but it wasn't so much his opinion as the fact that it's mono that made me choose it. Here's today's spare blip -- I did try it in mono but preferred the colour version. Did I make the right choice?

Last year I posted six mono blips in the first six months, and 18 in the second. I didn't feel capable of taking good mono photos before, and it's only recently that I've decided to make an effort to seek out subjects and compositions that will work in mono. After all you can only learn by doing! My favourite mono so far is still this one. With this a close second.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.