Dry Dock

More Water of Leith #oneriver.
I did venture up town today, for some essential supplies, but the book that I was after is out of print, and apparently they have discovered that there's a potential carcinogen in Euthymol toothpaste, so they have ceased production for a while.
Personally, I'd have still taken the risk brushing my teeth with it (after all, I am a smoker...). It was exhausting to travel so far, still feeling godawful, but very sorry to have missed a very local blipmeet because of my viral illness :(
Anyhoo, this shows one of the major drydocks on the Water of Leith. You can still see the entrance where the wall is interrupted by metal piling. The outline is delineated by a concrete slab path around the lawn (which is not really visible).
We did an excavation in the late 1980's where the white building to the left now stands. Fascinating stuff, I wonder if it will ever be published???
The best thing about the dock is that they built the tenements on Sandport St when it was still in use. If you look at the door in the middle, you'll see that they had to set it back, so that the bowsprits of the docked ships would fit in. So few people see that now, or would ever guess that that's the reason for such a weird architectural quirk.
That reminds me of another such quirk, which I think I'll blip tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.